top of page
  • Writer's pictureRachel

Fungi, Falls and Unconformities

A full-on day was planned, and a full-on day was achieved – despite the weather’s best efforts. I grabbed myself an early breakfast in order to make the most of my remaining time on Arran. My two missions were to visit the Glenashdale Falls and to find Hutton’s Unconformity!


I started with Glenashdale Falls, seeing as it was so close to my accommodation and I was worried about missing out when it got dark. So, I packed my little rucksack and headed out to find the waterfall! I decided that I would take things at my own pace, and not worry about rushing. This turned out to be the correct decision, because I found loads and loads of mushrooms!



Also, apparently yesterday was World Fungus Day!


After spending lots of time rolling around on the forest floor with the fungi, I continued up the path, following the river. It occurred to me as I walked that I was getting a lot of green and blue therapy today – something I’ve been sorely missing recently. It was wonderful to just listen to the sounds of the forest and bathe myself in natural beauty. I really need to make this a priority even when I’m not on holiday.



It seemed to me that there was an awful lot of hill to climb! Just when I thought I’d gotten to the top, it turned out there was more. My favourite false ending had to be the small trickle of a waterfall, with a sign pointing to the main falls. I wonder how many people had reached that point and turned back thinking that was the end!



But the end it was not, and I continued to climb until I reached Glenashdale Falls. And oh my – what a view. And what a sound! It was so much taller than I expected and I couldn’t help and stare at the water plummeting down, down, down. Now how’s that for a bit of blue therapy?



Believe it or not, I still had more uphill to go! I followed a forestry track up and round until I came to a site known as the Giant’s Graves. These are the remains of two large chambered cairns, where people would have been buried in the Neolithic period. These were some very impressive structures – our ancestors were so brilliant!



I descended back down towards Whiting Bay and happily spotted a coal tit bobbing around in a tree. Unfortunately, I didn’t manage to get a picture because as I was getting my camera out, another walker scared it off. Oh well – at least I saw it. Happily, I arrived back down to sea level in plenty of time for the bus and waited at what must be the bus stop with the most pleasant view on the whole island!



So, it was time to head around to Lochranza. Now, this morning I had enjoyed excellent weather at the falls, so I was optimistic for the same in the afternoon. No such luck! When I changed buses at Blackwaterfoot the weather was already breathtaking, but by the time I got to Lochranza the wind and rain were both at full pelt. I toyed with the idea of continuing straight round to Brodick, but I was determined to see Hutton’s Unconformity.


So I got off the bus.


I should probably explain. Hutton’s Unconformity is a geological feature at Newton Point where the 18th Century geologist, James Hutton, first started to collect evidence to support his theory of Plutonism – proposing that rocks were formed from volcanic action, rather than the accepted theory that they were crystallised remains from the Great Flood. It’s such an interesting piece of history that I was really keen to see it!


Unfortunately, because the wind and rain were so fierce, I didn’t take a great deal of pictures on this walk. I ventured through woodland and moorland, along the coastline and then back along the lochshore.



Apparently this is a good spot to see golden eagles, sea otters and red deer. I reckon any self-respecting critter was tucked up somewhere nice and dry. The weather upped in intensity from “hold onto your hats” to “put your hats in your pocket” as I made my way back to the bus stop. I guess the weather encouraged me to walk a bit faster than normal as I found that I had over an hour to wait for the bus. Thankfully, the church next to the bus stop was open so I took shelter in there.



Needless to say, I was very relieved to see the bus and be on the way back to the guesthouse! I’m actually writing this blog on the sofa in the front room because I’m the only guest tonight so I’ve got the run of the place. So, that’s my last blog from Arran. Tomorrow is a day of travel – allegedly. The ferry was in chaos today, and the trains on the mainland are back on strike! Oh well, getting back is a problem for the morning.


For now, I am going to enjoy the cosy warmth, a cup of hot tea and the soft blankets of my room as a reward for such an excellent holiday. I’ve had a lovely time, and I will definitely be coming back – who wants to join me?

21 views0 comments

Recent Posts

See All
bottom of page