top of page
  • Writer's pictureRachel

New Horizons

My usual new year tradition seems to be writing a catch-up blog. I find myself so busy that I often completely forget to write up my adventures or share my favourite pictures of new and exciting things I found. I still think I would like to do that – but that is not this blog.

Some of you may know that I spent some time in Dorset recently. Some of you may even know that I was there for a job interview at the Tank Museum in Bovington. Honestly, I was surprised to even make it to the second stage of interviews. You can imagine my shock and delight when they came and found me in the museum straight after the interview to offer me the job there and then!


Since then, my head has been in something of an excited and overwhelmed whirlwind. The new position – Media Production Coordinator within the Marketing team – will start at the end of February, so I just need to undertake the small task of moving my entire from one end of the country to the other! It’s a thrilling period of transition, but I’d be lying if I said I wasn’t terrified. There’s so much to sort out, and it feels like everything is moving at breakneck speed.


I’m scoping out places to live down south, and I’m thinking that Weymouth might be the place for me. I’ve managed to find a lovely church, and living by the sea has always been a dream of mine. I’ve already paid a visit to the local nature reserve (Radipole Lakes) where I spotted 25 species in just over an hour – including my first ever bearded tit. And, of course, I continued with my lighthouse quest and visited the three lighthouses on the Isle of Portland.

So, big news and big changes. I am going to miss Carlisle so much, but it does feel like the right time to be moving on. Any and all of my Carlisle friends, please do stay in touch! I’ve been so lucky to have had the pleasure and joy to spend time with you.


With a new place to live, there are countless new places to explore. Perhaps I’ll finally have a go at keeping a regular blog! I’m looking forward to embracing the changes, and waking up to a new horizon.



51 views0 comments

Recent Posts

See All
bottom of page