top of page
  • Writer's pictureRachel

Goodbye 2021, Hello 2022

Another year almost done, and another few months without a blog post. This time last year, I apologised for not posting since June – looking back I can see that I have not posted since February… whoops! I had planned to sort this out in September (I had a whole 2-part series planned) but the task seemed too big and every week that I didn’t deal with it, the more unmanageable the job became.


But the end of the year has come around, and it felt like as good a time as any to reflect on what I’ve achieved, and perhaps a list of things I’d like to do in the coming year.


Some Things I’m Proud Of


I’ve graduated! – yes, this year, I finally completed my Wildlife Media degree. There have been a number of challenges and I’ll be honest, returning to the course after my illnesses was much harder than I ever expected it to be. I’m very grateful for the staff at the uni for all their unwavering support, and to my friends and family for giving me a good kick up the backside when needed. I’d also like to extend my thanks to Chris Packham for retweeting my dissertation survey, meaning that it reached over 500 people in 3 days. Check out my final major film project below!



I ran a BioBlitz! – with the completion of my degree, I was determined to keep up the community engagement work that I started and love with the Wildlife Society. I decided to ask my church if we could run a Churchyard BioBlitz – and they said yes without any convincing! The event was a huge success, with over 50 volunteers, experts and participants in attendance, and over 100 species surveyed. A brilliant effort all round.



I bought a house! – this was a completely unexpected outcome for 2021. I started the year with no intention of getting on the property ladder. It’s funny how things work out, but I’m go glad that I did it. I love my house, and you’re all cordially invited to come and visit.


I have a new job! – this is, arguably, the most exciting thing to happen to me this year. I’m absolutely thrilled to have joined the Learning Team at Tullie House Museum and Art Gallery. There’s lots of exciting projects in the works, so you’ll have to keep up-to-date with the museum to find out more. I actually go up to full time in the new year, so I’ve had to say goodbye to my part-time work. I’m excited to see what this role brings in the new year!


Although these are the top four things I’m proud of, a whole host of other exciting things have taken place over the course of the year. Kepplewray, my beloved summer camp, returned to the Lakes after a year online, which was a joyous thing to be a part of. I’ve had a chance to do some classical singing, including a trip to a snowy Lanercost Priory. My orchestra also resumed in-person rehearsals, so that’s been great to be a part of once more. I managed to rescue a lost puppy from a dark and rainy night. And for my birthday, I took myself on a well-earned break to Llandudno. I spent 3 very happy days exploring the Welsh coast, sampling the local coffee shops, climbing the Great Orme and paddling in the sea. It was a lovely time away, and it’s given me the confidence to visit other places by myself (restrictions permitting).



What’s in Store for 2022?


Get out in nature more! – the last few months, I’ve been finding it more and more difficult to get out and engage with the natural world. I don’t know why this has been the case, other than I’ve been a bit overwhelmed with the new house and the new job. That being said, I am drafting this blog post in a notebook on the way back from Settle. I took a little trip there to see a waterfall, and less-than-gracefully fell in the mud for my trouble. 100% worth it!



More writing! – I’ve become very lax in my creative writing this year, which is pretty poor considering that I’m now the Vice Chair of the Carlisle Writers Group. I’m hoping that 2022 will bring a fresh bout of creativity and discipline.


Run a second Churchyard BioBlitz! – this one is pretty self-explanatory. Let’s do the same thing, but bigger and better!


Reduce my plastic consumption! – I’m particularly interested in reducing my single-use plastic consumption. I’ve already made a start, which I’m pleased with, but I know I can do more. Perhaps I can try a plastic-free Lent? Wish me luck!


There are other projects on my mind that I want to try and do, but they’re going to require a lot of planning to get off the ground. Hopefully I’ll be able to share those ideas with you in due course and maybe you can get involved.


Well, I think that’s enough from me for now. I’m enjoying watching the lights rush past as the train speeds through the countryside. I hope you have all had very pleasant holidays, and that you have a wonderful new year.


Top Pictures of 2021



43 views0 comments

Recent Posts

See All
bottom of page